RSS

Puppy Vitamin Water? Puh-lease

06 May

This blog is normally about people food, but when I saw this article in the Wall Street Journal by Anjali Cordeiro about vitamin-infused water for DOGS, I had to comment.

First there was the bottled water craze. There were water sommeliers at restaurants with haute cuisine. Then bottled water manufacturers realized that if they pumped their municipal water with vitamins and electrolytes and gave it a catchy name, they could charge upwards of $4 for what is essentially tap water.

But this is just too much. Cott Corp. came out with a line of vitamin waters called FortiFido (you have to give them credit for creativity) including a peanut-butter-flavored water fortified with calcium for healthy bones. There’s also a healthy skin blend and a healthy joints blend. Another company, PetSmart, is selling vitamin tablets that can be dissolved in water for doggies. Now, when you take your handful of pills in the morning, you can reach over and give Fido and Fluffy theirs, too.

Before I go on, I have to disclose something. Yes, I do give supplements to my dog. Nicky, our faithful German Shepherd, has pretty bad arthritis. I give her a couple of tablets of glucosamine to aid her joints. And my cat Filin gets a few drops of cod liver oil packed with Omega-3s in his food so that his fur will shine.

Sigh. So I guess I’m perfect consumer for these doggie gimmicks. I’ll see you at the pet shop buying vitamin-infused water for my dog.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 6, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Puppy Vitamin Water? Puh-lease

  1. susan allport

    May 7, 2008 at 9:24 am

    Thought you’d be interested in this short omega-3 video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eIgNpsbvcVM

     
  2. michiek

    May 7, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    Thanks Susan! I’ll definitely check out the book! (For those interested in checking it out, go to Amazon — http://www.amazon.com/Queen-Fats-Omega-3s-Removed-California/dp/0520242823)

    I take an Omega-3 supplement every day and after watching the video, I’m really glad I do!

     
  3. michiek

    May 7, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    Also, for any of you who may be snickering at the fact that I give my cat Omega-3s, have you ever looked at the ingredients in cat food? Corn, wheat gluten, soy protein… Last I checked, tigers and lions aren’t out there eating corn-on-the-cob and tofu in the wild. They’re supposed to eat protein! I give my cat food from Trader Joe’s, which has fish, chicken, turkey, etc. as the main ingredients, but I started supplementing after learning how much of the livestock today is deficient in Omega-3s (because we’re feeding the cows and chickens corn, corn, corn!).

     

Leave a Reply

 
