RSS

Mom and Me in the Kitchen

11 May

Happy Mother’s Day to the moms out there, including my own 🙂 The picture at right is of my two favorite women in the world, my mom and my sister.

The Washington Post’s food blog “A Mighty Appetite” has a bunch of lovely food stories about moms and their kids in the kitchen. Definitely worth checking out.

I spent this morning with my mom baking bread. We are both avid bread makers (she more so; she’s taken several baking classes at our local culinary arts program) and so we fervently measured and spooned flour, water, starter and spices into our bowls this morning. We’re making a Greek Celebration Bread — a honey and spice bread made with a sourdough starter — and a Swedish Rye bread made with molasses, anise, fennel and cardamom.

But although our breads usually turn out to be delicious, my favorite part of the process is baking with my mom. She’s a wealth of knowledge on breads and I turn to her with questions, finished doughs, and spoons to lick for taste approval. Making something as tactile and fragrant as fresh-baked bread with my mom is a real treat. And as we wait for the dough to rise and bake, we take walks and gab about everything under the sun, from relationships to science to more bread-making, of course. My father will joke that we bake bread like there’s no tomorrow, but we brush his jokes aside and keep on baking. During the good times and the not-so-good times, it’s what keeps us going.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 11, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Mom and Me in the Kitchen

  1. Natalie

    May 13, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    I totally agree, when the three of us are in the kitchen I am truly the happiest person in the world 🙂

     
  2. Ana

    May 19, 2008 at 8:49 am

    Michelle, Your Mom is a wealth of knowledge on bread and many, many more topics! Can we have some bread recipes? Please?

    Ana

     
  3. Marion

    May 22, 2008 at 8:35 am

    Michelle, some times we use any excuse to show our love and share with our favorite people. I found amazing how “baking bread” makes you feel so loved and happy. I believe that the tyniest things makes our lives better… sometimes they are free, and that’s the best.

     

Leave a Reply

 
